Author Topic: Going to start updating mech pages  (Read 17768 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BoxOfAids

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • l33tp0intz: +3/-0
  • The game
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #30 on: June 24, 2011, 01:02:06 AM »
thought I'd bump this thread rather than make a new one

On the wiki page for Cougars, it says in the description "The B variant breaks the trend of LRM's, and instead mounts 1 CERPPC, 1 CERLBL, and 1 CERMBL", but on the right side of the page it lists the B variant as having 2 CERMBL and 1 CERPPC. Thought I'd just point that out, should be a quick fix!

Offline Cygma

  • MWLL Developer
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1498
  • l33tp0intz: +65/-1
    • 7th Regiment Wolfs Dragoons
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #31 on: June 24, 2011, 09:17:26 AM »
Thanks, fixed.
By the way, feel free to create an account on the wiki so you can fix such things yourself :)
<Insert cool content here>

Offline Odd

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • l33tp0intz: +2/-0
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #32 on: July 11, 2011, 05:20:53 PM »
Is there any way for non-developers to verify the configs en masse (e.g. in-game config matches purchase menu description matches wiki), as well as the verify numbers (e.g. for weapons and armor)?

Offline Cygma

  • MWLL Developer
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1498
  • l33tp0intz: +65/-1
    • 7th Regiment Wolfs Dragoons
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #33 on: July 11, 2011, 05:30:07 PM »
The easiest way for the wiki is probably to use a script to:
 a) parse out the info from all the xml files
 b) get the prices per variant from the dumpMwllPrices command output
 c) output the results into a text file in wiki info box format
 d) just copy&paste them into the wiki

I have a Python script that did this for up to 0.4.9, but still haven't gotten to updating it:
http://forum.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php/topic,12018.0.html
<Insert cool content here>

Offline Odd

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • l33tp0intz: +2/-0
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #34 on: July 12, 2011, 08:13:36 PM »
I may take a crack at updating it sometime this week.  I've been meaning to dust off my python hat anyway.

Offline Cygma

  • MWLL Developer
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1498
  • l33tp0intz: +65/-1
    • 7th Regiment Wolfs Dragoons
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #35 on: July 12, 2011, 10:00:04 PM »
Nice, if you have questions feel free to ask.
<Insert cool content here>


Offline DFDelta

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2217
  • l33tp0intz: +145/-1
  • Wiki Staff
    • My Youtube page
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #37 on: May 07, 2012, 09:37:27 PM »
Well, for most of those there is no model that we can use to make a image  :P
Generally we use the most recent MWLL render, or, lacking those a pic from sarna.net.

Epona, Hephaestus, Fafnir and Blasp could use a new image with the MWLL model we have ingame, but I'd take someone with sandbox skills (which I utterly lack) to make an image like we have for the other assets.
Join the MWLL wiki today, your contributions will make the wiki a better place.

In Lyran Commonwealth, Atlas scouts you.

Offline S7alker117

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 139
  • l33tp0intz: +25/-0
    • My personal site
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #38 on: May 08, 2012, 02:04:09 AM »
Well, for most of those there is no model that we can use to make a image  :P
Generally we use the most recent MWLL render, or, lacking those a pic from sarna.net.

Epona, Hephaestus, Fafnir and Blasp could use a new image with the MWLL model we have ingame, but I'd take someone with sandbox skills (which I utterly lack) to make an image like we have for the other assets.

That being so, then we'll need someone who can do that kind of work.
Who has been uploading the images then? That person could do the new pics for the pages you refered to.  :-\
ASSUMING CONTROL OF THIS FORM

OO_OO

Offline DFDelta

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2217
  • l33tp0intz: +145/-1
  • Wiki Staff
    • My Youtube page
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #39 on: May 09, 2012, 05:28:39 AM »
I think Skywalker did the images for all the older articles, and he is inactive at the moment.
Join the MWLL wiki today, your contributions will make the wiki a better place.

In Lyran Commonwealth, Atlas scouts you.

Offline S7alker117

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 139
  • l33tp0intz: +25/-0
    • My personal site
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #40 on: May 09, 2012, 03:59:15 PM »
If thats the case, then we'll need to find a way to around this problem. :/

Anyone else involved in the Wiki that can lend a little PS talent?
ASSUMING CONTROL OF THIS FORM

OO_OO

Offline Az

  • MechWarrior
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • l33tp0intz: +49/-0
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #41 on: May 09, 2012, 06:09:16 PM »
About those images, shouldn't they link to the asset pages instead of a bigger version of themselves?

I.e. on http://wiki.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php?title=Mechs, I click the Owens image and it leads to http://wiki.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php?title=File:Owens.jpg, whereas I'd expect to reach http://wiki.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php?title=Owens.

Same thing on the Vehicles, VTOLs, etc. pages, and the main page's featured article too. It tricks me every time.

Offline S7alker117

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 139
  • l33tp0intz: +25/-0
    • My personal site
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #42 on: May 09, 2012, 06:41:51 PM »
About those images, shouldn't they link to the asset pages instead of a bigger version of themselves?

I.e. on http://wiki.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php?title=Mechs, I click the Owens image and it leads to http://wiki.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php?title=File:Owens.jpg, whereas I'd expect to reach http://wiki.mechlivinglegends.net/index.php?title=Owens.

Same thing on the Vehicles, VTOLs, etc. pages, and the main page's featured article too. It tricks me every time.

I noticed that too myself, and I think it would be more intuitive if the pics linked to the page proper, although I still don't know how easily we can do that.
ASSUMING CONTROL OF THIS FORM

OO_OO

Offline Werewolf486}12thVR{

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 757
  • l33tp0intz: +47/-1
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #43 on: May 09, 2012, 08:18:18 PM »
Vic's the greatest! Dude you do nice work!
NEW: Cooler Master ATSC840                                                    OLD: Cooler Master ATSC840
ASUS LGA2011 Rampage IV Black Edition/Intel i7-4930K             ASUS LGA775 Rampage Extreme/Intel Q9550S
ASUS HD7870-DC2-2GD5-V2/27" ASUS Monitor                          ASUS HD7870-DC2-2GD5-V2/ 24" ASUS Monitor
16GB Corsair Vengeance/Razor Nostromo/M70,M65 Corsair         8GB OCZ Reaper/ N52te/Sidewinder
Kingwin Mach1 1220watt/Win 7 Pro 64bit                                     Kingwin Mach1 1220watt/Win 7 Pro 64bit
250gb Velociraptor x 2 in Raid0/500GB WD Blue x 2 in Raid1        80GB Velociraptor x 2 in Raid0/750GB WD Blue x2 in Raid1

Offline Az

  • MechWarrior
  • **
  • Posts: 274
  • l33tp0intz: +49/-0
Re: Going to start updating mech pages
« Reply #44 on: May 09, 2012, 08:30:44 PM »
From http://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Help:Images#Altering_the_default_link_target and the stuff about <gallery>, it looks like changing the syntax from

Code: [Select]
<gallery>
File:Harasser.jpg|[[Harasser]]
</gallery>

to

Code: [Select]
<gallery>
File:Harasser.jpg|link=Harasser|[[Harasser]]
</gallery>

ought to do the trick.

edit: typo
« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 10:08:27 PM by Az »