Author Topic: Mech Warrior Fan Film  (Read 7512 times)

Offline Colt45

• Recruit
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
Mech Warrior Fan Film
« on: June 30, 2011, 05:01:15 AM »
Hey all, I'm new to the forum and I am a huge fan of MechWarrior. I dying to create a short action movie on MW. I am a amature director and VFX artist, but I am not a 3D modeler, or not a remotely good one at least. However I do know how to composite 3D elements into a film.

My problem is that I don't have any models of mechs (Whats a MW film without mechs?). I have searched high and low for some decent models but with no success. If anyone has models that they are willing to donate, I would be eternally grateful. The models would have to be textured and rigged.

I have Maya, 3Ds Max, even Inventor if need be. I am asking here because I know that some great quality models are used in MWLL and I know those models are created in 3Ds Max. I'm not a programmer or software engineer so I'm not sure if the in-game models are usable or even available for me. If anyone can help or point me in a good direction on where to get HQ models, that would be great.

If I do get said models I will then open up discussion regarding the film and what other fans (you guys!) would like to see in it.
Please ask any questions if need be. Thanks.
Do or Do Not, There is no Try

Offline [CW]Aresye

• Star Captain
  • l33tp0intz: +156/-1
  • Clan Wolf
    • Clan Wolf
Re: Mech Warrior Fan Film
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2011, 11:33:55 PM »
Hey man, take the route I'm going, and hold out for the time being.  I'm working on getting myself a copy of Lightwave, and already have somewhat of a script worked on.

Originally I planned to do a mix of live acting and in-game footage, but I'm holding off until I can master Lightwave, and it doesn't matter if it takes me a couple years, because I'd rather take a long time to create a high quality film, than do a half assed attempt quickly.

Offline CapperDeluxe

• MWLL Developer
  • Living Legend