Author Topic: Setting up LAN Server  (Read 2232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chomps123

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
Setting up LAN Server
« on: January 29, 2013, 03:33:53 AM »
To admins:
Please sticky this so others can know how.

To anyone:
How do you do this?  I've tried multiple time and failed each time...I can't see what I'm doing wrong.  Can someone please list a step-by-step instruction on how to do it...Thanks in advance.

Offline Spooky

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 3644
  • l33tp0intz: +156/-37
  • my little pwny
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2013, 10:46:12 AM »
I don't think you can. If you want to restrict your server only to specific people, use a password. If you want to circumvent the CD key authentication, simply block port 29910 for the server (or just the server application via a local firewall).

Offline Ingrater

  • MWLL Lead Coder
  • Project Director
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1292
  • l33tp0intz: +136/-0
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2013, 10:51:02 AM »
Just set up the server as usual and put
Code: [Select]
sv_lanonly = 1into your server.cfg (which the launcher will generate for you)
There comes a point where the talking must stop, and people have to do actual work.

Offline Spooky

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 3644
  • l33tp0intz: +156/-37
  • my little pwny
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2013, 10:59:35 AM »
Oops 8)

(server.cfg will be under ...\crysis wars\Mods\mwll btw.)

Offline Chomps123

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2013, 11:23:51 PM »
Still not working for me

Offline Az

  • MechWarrior
  • **
  • Posts: 270
  • l33tp0intz: +47/-0
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2013, 01:27:04 AM »
I'm sorry I have to start by a not-so-friendly note but:

I've tried multiple time and failed each time...I can't see what I'm doing wrong.

Neither can we!
Simply saying "it doesn't work" is not helpful. If you want us to help you, you have to help us a bit.
As it is, I have absolutely no idea what your problem might be. I can only guess.

And my guess is: it is actually working just fine. Did you try the "Connect by IP" button?


Anyway, here is a step-by-step instruction for the simplest LAN server:
  • Start the MWLL Launcher
  • Click Configure
  • Fill in Server name
  • Change Server port to 64100
  • Add maps to your rotation
  • Take note of the path to your Configuration file
  • Save and close
  • Add sv_lanonly=1 to the top of your server.cfg
  • Launch the dedicated server from the launcher
  • Launch MWLL and join your LAN server

This is working for me.
If it doesn't for you, please be more specific this time!


As for why I'm guessing your server is working but simply "invisible":
The server port the MWLL Launcher sets up by default (64087) is the old Crysis default port. Crysis Wars' default port is 64100.
This is not an issue with Internet servers as they have to register to a master server, but the LAN server browser only checks the default port.

Offline Chomps123

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2013, 03:24:26 AM »
It worked thank you so much Az,

Offline Stahlseele

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 4583
  • l33tp0intz: +85/-6
  • 2nd Level TechSupport Agent(BOFH)
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2013, 03:47:26 PM »
Anybody have a rough estimate of how much power such a dedicated server needs to propperly run? O.o
'any kind of discussion of randomness ALWAYS WILL EQUATE to being able to critically hit a mech's reactor by firing a micro beam laser while facing 80 degrees to the side, shooting the ground, which would cause a random explosion which would randomly crit his entire team's reactors which would randomly cause the server itself to explode which would randomly generate a strange quark which would randomly hit the earth and randomly randomness randomfapp the shit fapp random!'
------------------------------
CPU: Intel Xeon i7 4820k
Memory: GSkill 2x8Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video: Inno 3D iChill GeForce GTX 780Ti Black Accelero Hybrid
H/SDD:Samsung Series 830 256GB/512GB, 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB, 1x WD Caviar Green 3TB
Monitor: 2x24" Widescreen 16:9 1920x1080 native resolution
Win7Ultimate64

Offline Tornado92

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • l33tp0intz: +9/-9
Re: Setting up LAN Server
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2013, 03:53:27 PM »
Anybody have a rough estimate of how much power such a dedicated server needs to propperly run? O.o
Power in which way? CPU, RAM, bandwidth?

MWLL can leak a ton of memory when it runs for a while, so you'd better have 4GB+. CPU usage is bearable, but something in the class of an i5 is very welcome if you run big servers. As far as bandwidth is concerned, 2MB/s up and 0.5MB/s down are recommended (thats megaBYTE).