Author Topic: Do I need a new motherboard?  (Read 1986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline est1895

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • l33tp0intz: +3/-0
Do I need a new motherboard?
« on: June 23, 2013, 01:09:49 AM »
I have asus m3n/hd-hdmi that I've had for a while now.  I get a lot of system errors daily, but I don't know if it is the motherboard and/or the hard drive?  If it is the motherboard, then that's gonna cost a lot of money. http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/M3NHDHDMI/#specifications    I do have a motherboard picked out, should I need to get a new one. If it is the hard drive I already have 2 velociRaptors already to go.  How do techs or myself perform diagnostics to find the problem?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131877

I'm gonna wait till it gets around $139.99. 

Offline Sxooter

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • l33tp0intz: +114/-30
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2013, 01:21:31 AM »
There are four things that could be causing your problem. Mobo, CPU, memory, hard drive. Without spares to test with it's hard to say which it is.

Offline est1895

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • l33tp0intz: +3/-0
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2013, 02:01:43 AM »
What about the motherboard choice? :-\  I only have a $600 budget, but now my Jeep needs a new radiator core and a new cowel vent thingy. :(

Offline Xarg Talasko

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2960
  • l33tp0intz: +159/-6
  • KANE LIVES!
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2013, 07:46:22 AM »
What kind of errors are you getting, and what testing have you performed so far?


Thief gameplay + Doom3 engine = The Dark Mod

Offline est1895

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • l33tp0intz: +3/-0
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2013, 09:58:33 PM »
Well, he gets blue screens. 'Windows has encontured an error and must restart'.  Different parts of his Windows XP won't work until he uses Ccleaner and the fix system errors.  One of his video card ports burned out. I'm sorry I couldn't be more explicit.  This is my brother's system so I have to wait when it does it again to give you a better report.

Offline Sxooter

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • l33tp0intz: +114/-30
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2013, 10:03:20 PM »
OK first download a live ubuntu CD and use it to run memtest86+ overnight. If you get memory errors then it's not your HD, it's your CPU, mobo or memory. If you have > 1 bank of RAM then pull all but one and see if it will pass the test with one set, then test the others one at a time.

Offline est1895

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 135
  • l33tp0intz: +3/-0
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2013, 10:15:55 PM »
OK first download a live ubuntu CD and use it to run memtest86+ overnight. If you get memory errors then it's not your HD, it's your CPU, mobo or memory. If you have > 1 bank of RAM then pull all but one and see if it will pass the test with one set, then test the others one at a time.

A live ubuntu CD?  A memtest86+?  How do you do them?  He has 2 x 1gbs sticks.

Offline Sxooter

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • l33tp0intz: +114/-30
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2013, 10:33:27 PM »
Go here: http://releases.ubuntu.com/raring/
download either of the first two images.
burn to a CD or make a bootable USB. burning to CD is often easier if you're not sure how to make a bootable USB key.
put it into machine
turn on machine
adjust BIOS if necessary to boot from USB key
when usb key boots, select memtest86+ as an option
run tests for a few hours looking for errors.

Offline Bruno_007

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Star Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 833
  • l33tp0intz: +90/-0
  • Osiris hats: sold out. ~Str1k3r
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2013, 01:00:55 AM »
Another handy assortment of tools, which includes memtest (or something similar) is Hirens Boot CD. I use it all the time when looking for problems or doing backups.
Tools and I:
   - MWLL Online Launcher (LAN UDP Forwarder) - evolution of past "Le Proof of Concepto" project: connect without Gamespy via packet redirection;
   - Vehicle Browser - "Pocket Wiki" Šokaolias (not really that though);
   - Rconnect 4.3 - Server tools: map manager/player voting add-ons;
   - CryHammer - Validates Patch/CDKey of Crysis Wars (now unable to validate CDKey due to turned off Gamespy servers).

Offline Sxooter

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 631
  • l33tp0intz: +114/-30
Re: Do I need a new motherboard?
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2013, 01:02:26 AM »
Another one is the ultimate boot cd: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/