Author Topic: Shattered Front - My new game project  (Read 2864 times)

Offline death_grin

• *woot*
  • MWLL Developer
  • Star Colonel
  • l33tp0intz: +17/-0
  • Level Design/Enviromental artist
Shattered Front - My new game project
« on: April 22, 2015, 10:19:11 PM »

Hi all, you are the first to know that I've begun work on a new game project titled "Shattered Front."  Yes, I have to keep myself from typing Shattered Sphere constantly.
The project is still very early in production, with just myself on the team at the moment (looking for more) and I've been doing research however for a few years as well as learning Unreal Engine 4 since it was released (UE 4 will be the engine we will be using.)

My goal with the game is to create a combined arms game similiar to MWLL, maybe even a spiritual successor if you will, with deep strategic gameplay and customization.  I know MWO, Hawken, and Titan Fall was a let down to many hoping for a game with larger possibilities in strategy, and that is what I hope Shattered Front will provide.  Large maps with lots of strategic options and a diverstiy of vehicles, weapons, and equipment. 
Of course I can't use the Battletech or Mechwarrior IP and I don't intend to do so.  The game will be using our own IP, though one that still has 'mechs playing a predominant role on the battlefield as well as battlearmor, aircraft, and ground vehicles.

I know all this sounds too good to be true.  How on earth can we develop a game with huge maps and a large enough player count? Is the technology there?  Well frankly I don't know.  Throughout development we will have to decide just what our limits are.  I don't know at this time what they will eventually be.  Though I am aiming for a higher technical requirment then many games such as MWO.