Author Topic: BAD performance  (Read 651 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DragonSK

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
BAD performance
« on: January 17, 2017, 04:03:16 AM »
Hello people.
I am pretty new to MWLL mod but I love the game as I am Mechwarrior fan (from MW 3).
I am having some troubles with the FRAMERATE which I am conserned about.
I am running win7 64bit, forced dx9 in the game, clearing shaders every time before launching.
I5 3570K
GTX660
8GB RAM
and still I am getting many time 25-50FPS on medium/ high settings and maybe around 35-60 on low settings when looking at distant terrain, in fight while I can get to 120-150 in smaller instances etc. I am asking if there is a way to improve my FPS as it isn't easy to hit moving target with this as I am used to run all my other games atleast around 60-80FPS even on high/ maxed out settings.
I was testing a little bit and for example I am having 45FPS in my mech powered up but when I power it down what makes the HUD vanish I am suddently running 60-70FPS. Maybe is there planned any optimalization ofr this Great game ? :)

Offline Bill

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 3021
  • l33tp0intz: +340/-78
  • I can use the Internet to flaunt my fetters.
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2017, 04:36:28 AM »
Hello people.
I am pretty new to MWLL mod but I love the game as I am Mechwarrior fan (from MW 3).
I am having some troubles with the FRAMERATE which I am conserned about.
I am running win7 64bit, forced dx9 in the game, clearing shaders every time before launching.
I5 3570K
GTX660
8GB RAM
and still I am getting many time 25-50FPS on medium/ high settings and maybe around 35-60 on low settings when looking at distant terrain, in fight while I can get to 120-150 in smaller instances etc. I am asking if there is a way to improve my FPS as it isn't easy to hit moving target with this as I am used to run all my other games atleast around 60-80FPS even on high/ maxed out settings.
I was testing a little bit and for example I am having 45FPS in my mech powered up but when I power it down what makes the HUD vanish I am suddently running 60-70FPS. Maybe is there planned any optimalization ofr this Great game ? :)

Have a look at the different autoexec.cfgs that have been posted up on the boards, there's a myriad of them tailored between performance and looking fancy (it's a bit too late for me to find em for you, but I'll post links to the thread tomorrow). You'll be surprised at how much of an impact these can have on your performance.

Offline Xarg Talasko

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2960
  • l33tp0intz: +159/-6
  • KANE LIVES!
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2017, 09:03:34 AM »
The current HUD is supposed to have a lower FPS impact than the old one, given the tech used to make the HUD I'm not sure how many more FPS can be saved by messing with it.


Thief gameplay + Doom3 engine = The Dark Mod

Offline Bill

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 3021
  • l33tp0intz: +340/-78
  • I can use the Internet to flaunt my fetters.
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2017, 09:06:30 AM »
Another option is to play with it disabled, whilst not exactly ideal (I'm not seriously suggesting this as a long term solution) it is a very good training tool.

Offline cest73

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 717
  • l33tp0intz: +21/-15
  • there are links in my signature -->
    • MW:LL game status online (kudos: Spooky)
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2017, 02:31:25 PM »
lookup autoexec.cfg on this forum and don't listen to them (non HUP play) >_>

Offline DragonSK

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2017, 01:53:54 PM »
Thank you for answers. I will try to modify autoexec.cfgs and I will see if it helps.

Offline Bill

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 3021
  • l33tp0intz: +340/-78
  • I can use the Internet to flaunt my fetters.
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2017, 02:01:06 PM »
I will still post links to the ones I mentioned previously, it's just that the search function on this site is bloody terrible to say the least.

Offline cest73

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 717
  • l33tp0intz: +21/-15
  • there are links in my signature -->
    • MW:LL game status online (kudos: Spooky)
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2017, 07:22:35 PM »
I will still post links to the ones I mentioned previously, it's just that the search function on this site is bloody terrible to say the least.
this one?

Offline Bill

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 3021
  • l33tp0intz: +340/-78
  • I can use the Internet to flaunt my fetters.
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2017, 09:23:13 PM »
I will still post links to the ones I mentioned previously, it's just that the search function on this site is bloody terrible to say the least.
this one?

I'd forgotten you'd done a batch of them as well if I'm honest. They should work fine and dandy I'm sure.

Offline HAARP

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2332
  • l33tp0intz: +212/-1
  • I regret nothing
    • Clan Jade Wolf
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2017, 10:04:52 PM »
It would be swell if someone could do a performance comparison between 0.7.1 and 0.8.2. I have a feeling something might be off.
don't bother sending me PMs, I probably won't be reading them in time.

Offline cest73

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 717
  • l33tp0intz: +21/-15
  • there are links in my signature -->
    • MW:LL game status online (kudos: Spooky)
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2017, 10:39:48 PM »
It would be swell if someone could do a performance comparison between 0.7.1 and 0.8.2. I have a feeling something might be off.
You got  a point there:

The default for me was pretty okayish if we look at bare FPS. But after first game on Thunder Rift, i saw why - water surface wasn't transparent.

When i turned (back) to my 0.7.1 autoexec.cfg the FPS remained about so (30...60) but I've got transparent water surface again?

A exact benchmark would be better yet, and maybe pruning the superfluous lines (a lot of objections in console but I was too lazy to bother).

Offline SJ SaKhan Wolf

  • Moderator
  • Star Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 894
  • l33tp0intz: +125/-33
  • Cheese!
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2017, 04:00:29 AM »
Bros.... He has a 6"60".

I'm sorry to say but with such a low end card you simply will not get quality GPS.
My milk shakes!

Offline HAARP

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2332
  • l33tp0intz: +212/-1
  • I regret nothing
    • Clan Jade Wolf
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2017, 08:35:13 AM »
My request for testing was more of a general nature.
don't bother sending me PMs, I probably won't be reading them in time.

Offline cest73

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 717
  • l33tp0intz: +21/-15
  • there are links in my signature -->
    • MW:LL game status online (kudos: Spooky)
Re: BAD performance
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2017, 10:45:37 AM »
@DragonSK,
whatever you do, make backups ;)

and do report what worked the best (maybe a screenshot with r_displayinfo = 1 in console enabled? )