Author Topic: Hoax?  (Read 1397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Stahlseele

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 4114
  • Karma: 43
  • 2nd Level TechSupport Agent(BOFH)
Hoax?
« on: June 18, 2009, 07:25:02 PM »
A user with the Nickname SandT just posted this on the MegaMek Boards.
Quote
Hi All! I work over at Smith & Tinker, and wanted to post here to let you know what we have been up to lately.  While our company is still not ready to release our plans for the IP’s that we have licensed from Microsoft, I thought you might be interested in checking out our new game.  It is our first game, and we just released it into public beta.  If you want to test it out, we would love to hear your thoughts: http://www.nanovor.com/play.

I promise that Smith & Tinker has great plans for Jordan’s previous creations, so stay posted and hang in there!
After 5 or 10 Minutes of investigation it does look legit enough . . but i would still advise to stay on the side of caution.


Aunt Edith has this to say:
"Original Post here"
http://www.classicbattletech.com/forums/index.php/topic,29976.msg1278759.html#msg1278759
« Last Edit: June 18, 2009, 07:35:29 PM by Stahlseele »
'any kind of discussion of randomness ALWAYS WILL EQUATE to being able to critically hit a mech's reactor by firing a micro beam laser while facing 80 degrees to the side, shooting the ground, which would cause a random explosion which would randomly crit his entire team's reactors which would randomly cause the server itself to explode which would randomly generate a strange quark which would randomly hit the earth and randomly randomness randomfapp the shit fapp random!'
------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4x3GHz
Memory: GSkill 2x4Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video: MSI N580GTX Lightning Xtreme Edition 3072MB
HDD: 2xWD Velociraptor74Gig10k RPM SATA  RAID0; 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB, 1x WD Caviar Green 2TB
Monitor: 2x24" Widescreen 16:9 1920x1080 native resolution
Windows Vista

Offline Ravir

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 717
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2009, 07:40:54 PM »
Anything that wants to auto-launch an MSI installer when you view a website makes me twitchy.

Online Stahlseele

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 4114
  • Karma: 43
  • 2nd Level TechSupport Agent(BOFH)
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2009, 07:50:02 PM »
Yeah, me too.
But still, it looks legit enough.
Also, sorry for posting in the wrong board.
'any kind of discussion of randomness ALWAYS WILL EQUATE to being able to critically hit a mech's reactor by firing a micro beam laser while facing 80 degrees to the side, shooting the ground, which would cause a random explosion which would randomly crit his entire team's reactors which would randomly cause the server itself to explode which would randomly generate a strange quark which would randomly hit the earth and randomly randomness randomfapp the shit fapp random!'
------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4x3GHz
Memory: GSkill 2x4Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video: MSI N580GTX Lightning Xtreme Edition 3072MB
HDD: 2xWD Velociraptor74Gig10k RPM SATA  RAID0; 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB, 1x WD Caviar Green 2TB
Monitor: 2x24" Widescreen 16:9 1920x1080 native resolution
Windows Vista

Offline =KoS= Eldragon

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2327
  • Karma: 85
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2009, 07:54:16 PM »
My money is on hoax. A professional company would have more fanfare for a public beta of Any game, and a much more professional website.

Offline zaha

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2009, 09:00:58 PM »
Wiki says:
Quote
The first game from Smith & Tinker will be called Nanovor.[5] Nanovor is an online battle game targeted to 7 - 12 year old boys. The release of Nanovor is slated for April 2009.[6]

Would you have more fanfare for something like this, Eldragon? ;)
This isn't an AAA Company (yet) and this surely isn't an AAA title, so I think it's real.
I've been waiting for a long time, for this moment to come.
I'm destined for anything...at all.

Online Stahlseele

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 4114
  • Karma: 43
  • 2nd Level TechSupport Agent(BOFH)
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2009, 09:06:06 PM »
Yeah, seems like it.
I kinda got an confirmation on dumpshock.
'any kind of discussion of randomness ALWAYS WILL EQUATE to being able to critically hit a mech's reactor by firing a micro beam laser while facing 80 degrees to the side, shooting the ground, which would cause a random explosion which would randomly crit his entire team's reactors which would randomly cause the server itself to explode which would randomly generate a strange quark which would randomly hit the earth and randomly randomness randomfapp the shit fapp random!'
------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4x3GHz
Memory: GSkill 2x4Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video: MSI N580GTX Lightning Xtreme Edition 3072MB
HDD: 2xWD Velociraptor74Gig10k RPM SATA  RAID0; 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB, 1x WD Caviar Green 2TB
Monitor: 2x24" Widescreen 16:9 1920x1080 native resolution
Windows Vista

Offline Cujo

  • Evil Polygon Wizard
  • MWLL Developer
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1721
  • Karma: 39
    • Deviant Art Gallery
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2009, 01:03:32 AM »
I had heard the licenses were revoked my MS.

Offline Sqarky

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2009, 01:10:35 AM »
Hoax or not this entire thing is poorly made.  I downloaded the beta just to see it, and I cant even log in.  It looks like its loading, but it just stays at the log in screen.  I'm kinda worried because this company could possibly be the future of MechWarrior.

Offline Tinker

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2009, 03:23:53 AM »
.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2009, 04:23:28 AM by Tinker »

Offline (TLL)Nick

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2009, 05:10:32 AM »
[sarcasm]I'm kinda worried because this company could possibly be the future of MechWarrior.[/sarcasm]

Fixed.

Offline SeniorBiscuit

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 369
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2009, 06:15:54 AM »
Oh god a game company that targets audiences 7-12 and hasnt made a real game yet aquire the rights to MW??

How cheap was M$ selling the FASA rights? youd think a real company would pick em up just to sit on em atleast, as big money could be made.

This sounds like BS to me.

Offline zaha

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2009, 06:52:25 AM »
A company founded by the BattleTech inventor is going to do a new MechWarrior and thought they'd better get some first-hand experience with a child's game before getting onto the real thing?
I couldn't be happier.

There's a lot to be learned even with a child's game. It's still a game containing most of the stuff regular games do.

@Sparky: Guess why it's called beta. You've got 3 trials. ;)
But that's a good example as to why there was no MWLL beta up until now: Though it's labeled BETA some people still expect a full-fledged, running game.
I've been waiting for a long time, for this moment to come.
I'm destined for anything...at all.

Offline SeniorBiscuit

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 369
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2009, 06:53:56 AM »
I didnt realize it was the same guy. That changes things...

Offline zaha

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 388
  • Karma: 0
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2009, 06:58:24 AM »
I didnt realize it was the same guy. That changes things...

Pretty cool, huh?
I expect great things from them. Their canny course of action until now leaves me in good hope they don't rush things, 'cause it's been almost 2 years since they licensed from Microsoft and no big announcement so far with lot's of PR.
I've been waiting for a long time, for this moment to come.
I'm destined for anything...at all.

Online Stahlseele

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 4114
  • Karma: 43
  • 2nd Level TechSupport Agent(BOFH)
Re: Hoax?
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2009, 10:53:36 AM »
Oh, by the way, those people are behind Shadowrun as well.
'any kind of discussion of randomness ALWAYS WILL EQUATE to being able to critically hit a mech's reactor by firing a micro beam laser while facing 80 degrees to the side, shooting the ground, which would cause a random explosion which would randomly crit his entire team's reactors which would randomly cause the server itself to explode which would randomly generate a strange quark which would randomly hit the earth and randomly randomness randomfapp the shit fapp random!'
------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4x3GHz
Memory: GSkill 2x4Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video: MSI N580GTX Lightning Xtreme Edition 3072MB
HDD: 2xWD Velociraptor74Gig10k RPM SATA  RAID0; 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB, 1x WD Caviar Green 2TB
Monitor: 2x24" Widescreen 16:9 1920x1080 native resolution
Windows Vista