MechWarrior: Living Legends

Community Activities => Community created content => Topic started by: Sesambrot on June 26, 2011, 11:13:18 PM

Title: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Sesambrot on June 26, 2011, 11:13:18 PM
Sometimes there is problem where solids (eg. Duncan Fisher posters in the SA_Singlemechbay) show up as orange balls ingame.
If this happens to you, follow the instructions below

The Editor is actually trying to find a ResouceCompiler in your mods directory, which is required to convert solids to .cgfs so they will show up ingame, unfortunately it is not included in the Beta. On top of that the sb2 seems to have a problem exporting maps directly into the mods-directory.
I don't get it anymore! let's just say it behaves very strange for whatever reason, and you can get around it by following the instructions below...


Easy fix:

go to ...\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis Wars\bin32 and copy the folder named "rc" to ...\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis Wars\Mods\mwll\bin32. Aside of that you need to save and export any changes you make to your map into the mods/mwll directory: Crysis Wars/Mods/MWLL/Game/Levels/Multiplayer/*Mapname*, in fact the first thing you need to do after creating a new map is to generate the surface texture and save the map, then leave the editor and move the folder to your mwll-directory, then load andwork on the map from there.
If this doesn't work, and you're using the 64bit version of the SB2, try using the 32bit version instead.


This is recommended to every community mapper, not only those who work on SA-maps!
There are solids used in the 8-Bay-Hangar and various other prefabs that are required for maps, and since the ResourceCompiler is needed to convert solids, none of those solids will be present ingame if you don't copy it from the Crysis Wars directory.


Big thanks to CoffiNail, Aidan and Finalizer who helped a great deal in figuring out how to solve that issue!


PS.: if you are under the impression that you understand less and less about how the sb2 works the more youknow about it, rest assured, that's quite common! :-X
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Aidan on June 26, 2011, 11:39:00 PM
We have just identified the cause of the DuncanFisher posters not showing up on SA-maps created with the current beta.

The Editor is actually trying to find a ResouceCompiler in your mods directory, which is required to convert solids to .cgfs so they will show up ingame, unfortunately it is not included in the Beta.


Easy fix:

go to ...\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis Wars\bin32 and copy the folder named "rc" to ...\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis Wars\Mods\mwll\bin32 and you should be fine.


This is recommended to every community mapper, not only those who work on SA-maps!
There are solids used in the in the 8-Bay-Hangar and various other prefabs that are required for maps, and since the ResourceCompiler is needed to convert solids, none of those solids will be present ingame if you don't copy it from the Crysis Wars directory.

Will this file copy trigger cheat protection?

Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Sesambrot on June 26, 2011, 11:44:58 PM
I tested it with my own betainstallation and the cheatprotection didn't get triggered.
My beta isn't any different than yours, so there should be no problems for you either.
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: (Wilson) on June 27, 2011, 01:23:23 AM
No, the resource compiler isnt a part of the beta(its external - only used by editor at level export) and wont trigger the Cheat Protection like other stray files can. We are working on integrating the SDK's resource compiler directly into the beta so that community mappers wont have to copy things manually. This is the temporary workaround until that time, for people having trouble getting solids to compile and work..
 
At least those disappearing solids now have a cause.. good ol Sandbox bein extremely illogical as usual... i swear they must have had monkeys writing the code for that editor sometimes... lol
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Aidan on June 27, 2011, 03:36:19 PM
Will the rest of the MWLL player community need to copy the Crytek resource compiler?

Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: (Wilson) on June 27, 2011, 03:53:29 PM
No, its only required for people making maps using the beta.. and then only to be able to use Solids. The Solids in cryengine are actually compiled into .cgf brushes by the resource compiler and stored inside the level.pak file. This is done when the "Export to Engine" operation is run. The reason the RC needs to be copied is that in its default location of "Crysis Wars\Bin32\RC\" it will not be found by the editor started with the "-mod MWLL" switch as an editor running a mod searches in the mod folder for the resource compiler only.. it wont search back down to the root Wars folder for it which I believe is a bug(or at the very least bad design). ... easiest workaround is to just copy it to where the editor is looking for it(Mods\MWLL\Bin32\RC).
 
Alternatively, you could try adding the RC folder to the "path" environment variable in windows and see if the editor will find it then.. please note that i have not tested this, its just a theory but will depend on how the editor accesses the filesystem... directly or not..
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: CGB [CoffiNail] on June 27, 2011, 10:25:00 PM
RC is copied... i will re-export Alshain, it is nearing version 0.4 anyways... so with luck in a few days if my mood holds.
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: CGB [Duffanichta] on July 25, 2011, 08:07:55 AM
Oh.. should do that too. Does It work even if I use the 64 Bit veron of the Editor?

PS: Dankeschön für die Info Sesam :) :)
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Sesambrot on July 25, 2011, 01:57:12 PM
Oh.. should do that too. Does It work even if I use the 64 Bit veron of the Editor?

PS: Dankeschön für die Info Sesam :) :)

it should...
tho to make sure it works, I'd recommend to delete the level.pak of the map you're working on if you exported it without the rc before, and export it again with the rc in the right place.
just reexporting it without deleting the existing level.pak might not fix the broken solids.

PS: NP
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: CGB [CoffiNail] on September 16, 2011, 03:35:38 PM
since this does not work properly, can we unsticky it until a solution is found?
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: Sesambrot on September 16, 2011, 03:45:32 PM
Well, first I don't have the rights to do this, second that's the reason I tried to mark it as INVALID, and third I don't really see a reason to unsticky it as I still hope that someone with an idea on how to fix this might stumble across it...
besides that way there won't be numerous complaitns about it not working as I stated cleary that it's not our fault.
I wouldn't want to have to deal with the same complaint every two weeks because people can't find the cause of their problem. (as it has been before)
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: (Wilson) on September 16, 2011, 04:35:11 PM
this needs more investigation...
 
the solution works for me... copy resource compiler from "crysis wars\bin32\rc" to "mods\mwll\bin32\rc" folder(so it exists in 2 places - making sure to copy required dlls with it), export from 32bit editor and solids work ingame(not from 64bit however)... there has to be something we are missing that causing it to fail for some users... Im sure ive seen a few community mappers who have managed to get solids working, unless im imagining things :S lol
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: CGB [CoffiNail] on September 16, 2011, 04:43:26 PM
Well i know for me and Duff it does not seem to work... I will ask Dem see if solids work for him, as i do not recall.
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: (Wilson) on September 16, 2011, 05:17:47 PM
just had an idea ... not sure if it would work, but if you guys wanna try ur welcome...
 
If you move your map out of the mods folder structure and into "Crysis Wars\Game\Level\Multiplayer\<etc>" .. so its not within the mods\mwll folders at all, and then export it.. do the solids work in that case ? im thinking this may work just to get the solids exported.. maps could then be moved back into the mods folder and development continue as normal... bit of a painful workaround I know, but i figured its worth a try lol.. it works both ways for me in the beta, but im not sure if im the exception or not lol..
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: =KoS= Finalizer on September 16, 2011, 05:22:23 PM
That's what I've been doing the whole time (Editing within Crysis Wars/Game/Levels/etc, exporting & moving the files to the Mods/MWLL/Game/Levels/etc...), and it doesn't work, there are still orange balls in the Mech Hangars in SA. I'll give it a try with the 32 bit editor tonight just to make sure though.
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: (Wilson) on September 16, 2011, 05:50:30 PM
did u also try exporting the map from within the mods\mwll folders ?(if not can you try it too when u have time) im just throwing ideas out at the moment in the hopes that we might spot something that could be causing these problems..
 
Normally when you create a map in sandbox2, it will default to putting the files into the Crysis Wars\Game\Levels folder.. but its usually best to move those files straight off into the mods\mwll folders as that way you dont need to worry about moving files after exporting for testing.. this is how we work internally, inside the mods\mwll folders the whole time. It doesnt really matter too much as far as map development goes, just seems like a bit of a pain to have to move files around for testing like that ;)
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: CGB [CoffiNail] on September 16, 2011, 05:52:15 PM
Well i have always done everything in the Crysis Wars folder not the mods/mwll ones.  I always copy my files over to the MWLL level folders each time. So far this is the only way i have worked.
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: (Wilson) on September 16, 2011, 06:13:37 PM
I really think that it shouldn't make a difference, though possibly it may with solids export. Just to let you guys know, the process I use to create a new map for the mod(and how we do it internally) is -
 
1. start sandbox and select file->new, enter name & appropriate settings and click ok
2. generate surface texture(optional, but im stupidstitous.. appeasing the cryengine random crash gods and all that... lol), save & exit
3. move map folder from "crysis wars\game\level\<mapname>" to "crysis wars\mods\mwll\game\levels\multiplayer\<gamemode>\<mapname>"
4. start sandbox and load map from mods\mwll folders to work on it..
 
I'd be interested in seeing if the solids worked for anybody exporting from the mods\mwll folders, i'll kick myself if its that simple haha
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: CGB [CoffiNail] on September 16, 2011, 06:18:29 PM
i will try as such right now
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: Aidan on September 16, 2011, 07:35:17 PM
You know I have never experienced this problem you all are describing. Routinely, when I create a new level I use the procedure (Wilson) just described. Create the level, the files are saved in the Crysis Wars folder structure, then I move those files down into the MWLL folder structure. During the early phases of my map creation, I create what I call Solid "measuring sticks". These "sticks" are used for distance measurements to lay out the control points and battle positions. The sticks will be 500, 800, 1000, 1200, and 1500 meters in length. I do not texture these solids, they are just left as default. I only use the 64 bit editor and these solids are always there in my pure game testing on my dedicated server.

Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: =KoS= Finalizer on September 16, 2011, 08:56:16 PM
Good news, folks:

(http://i.imgur.com/qJsrC.jpg)

BUENO!

For reference:

-Using the 32 bit version of the editor
-Copied the rc folder from Crysis Wars/Bin32 to mods/MWLL/Bin32
-Editing the map from Crysis Wars/Game/Levels/Multiplayer/[blargh]
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: Aidan on September 16, 2011, 09:54:02 PM
Do other players connecting to your map see this?

Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: =KoS= Finalizer on September 16, 2011, 10:01:45 PM
I'll find out if I can find someone willing to test it with me :X

Probably gonna have to wait until tonight when TS3 is more active.
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: Sesambrot on September 16, 2011, 11:27:45 PM
Do other players connecting to your map see this?
That should actually be out of question as the only important file, once the map is exported is the level.pak.
In fact, if it works for one person, it should work for everyone who has the same (a copy) of the level.pak it worked with...
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: =KoS= Finalizer on September 17, 2011, 04:55:57 AM
Okay, looks like I done goofed in my previous post:

Make sure you're editing from within the Crysis Wars/Mods/MWLL/Game/Levels/Multiplayer/[blargh] to ensure that the solids export properly.

With that, I can confirm that the George Ledoux poster works properly for both me and other players! Presumably, this means that solids work correctly now. For recap:

-Using the 32 bit version of the editor
-Copied the rc folder from Crysis Wars/Bin32 to mods/MWLL/Bin32
-Editing the map from Crysis Wars/Mods/MWLL/Game/Levels/Multiplayer/[blargh]
Title: Re: *INVALID*IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!*INVAL
Post by: (Wilson) on September 17, 2011, 05:03:52 AM
oh excellent.. thats really good news, thanx heaps all for testing that for us..
 
Its good to know it really was something so simple as map location... now where's that steelcap i'll proceed to start kicking myself for while i think lol..its always the simple things that get missed haha ;)
 
ps. Sesambrot, can you update ur first post again when u have the time, cheers man :)
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Sesambrot on September 17, 2011, 12:38:31 PM
first post updated with new information

thx everyone!
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: CGB [Ancient Demise] on September 23, 2011, 03:27:24 AM
That's great news! Does this work for solids as well? Has it been tested for prefabs such as the hardened mechbay and single_mechbay_withspawn? as in no more floating orange orbs?
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: (Wilson) on September 23, 2011, 03:54:59 AM
Yes the fix works, its always the most simple things we overlook, as in this case... the root of the problem was the fact that a bunch of people were editting and exporting their map from outside the Mods\MWLL folder structure and of course we had(naively) taken for granted everyone was working within the mods folders so didnt think to ask right away ;)
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: Aidan on September 23, 2011, 04:10:52 AM
Yes the fix works, its always the most simple things we overlook, as in this case... the root of the problem was the fact that a bunch of people were editting and exporting their map from outside the Mods\MWLL folder structure and of course we had(naively) taken for granted everyone was working within the mods folders so didnt think to ask right away ;)

This would also explain why I never experienced this problem.

Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: CGB [Ancient Demise] on September 26, 2011, 08:30:59 PM
I tried putting the cry file in the mods/mwll/game/level/multiplayer/... directory and extracting the solids using the 32 bit editor, and look what happened... :'(
Yes i've copied the resource files and yes i've tried it in the vanilla directory too. This is suppose to be the hardened mechbay.

Sad face.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: (Wilson) on September 27, 2011, 03:20:39 AM
Quote
I tried putting the cry file in the mods/mwll/game/level/multiplayer/

hmm ok, something must be in the wrong place or corrupted... as an example, if you are working on a level called "TSA_Zoetemeer" you would need to work on, save and export from "Mods\MWLL\Game\Levels\Multiplayer\TSA\TSA_Zoetemeer\*.cry"
 
You may need to delete the "level.pak" file after moving the level into its correct location to force the resource compiler to rebuild the cgf's for those solids..(also may need to regenerate your surface texture once u delete level.pak)
 
Do you create your own textures in photoshop, or use the 3dsmax plugins ? You can test if the resource compiler is actually working and being found by checking if either of those programs will find it when they start.. In photoshop you will get an error when you try to save a "crytiff" saying that it cant find the RC... in 3dsmax it will popup a small dialog at startup, this should tell you via a little green icon that its found the RC properly..
 
A quick test to see if solids are working independantly of your map would be to create a quick blank test level, copy it to the proper mwll location, then create a couple of random solids somehwere on it, export and test ingame to see if they work...
 
Also in the interests of asking some really simply questions first, so they arent overlooked lol.. are you running the editor as an administrator or while logged in on an admin account ? Did you install the editor using its own installer or did u have to manually copy things around ? Are you using the Steam or Retail version of the game(the RC location is important as it needs to match where the registry thinks it is)...
 
In the windows registry, under "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Crytek\Settings" there should be a key called "RootPath" .. this should point to the root crysis wars folder wherever it is.. in my case its "C:\Program Files(x86)\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis Wars" ... if you arent familiar with the registry, you can run a program called "SettingsMgr.exe" to set those keys, it should be located inside the "Crysis Wars\Tools" folder..
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: =KoS= Finalizer on October 03, 2011, 09:19:09 AM
Not sure if it really proves anything, but if it's at all reassuring, I've gotten my own custom solids working now as well:

[spoiler](http://i.imgur.com/f872D.jpg)[/spoiler]

(Hopefully those spoiler tags will be working again at some point >_>)

The lava flows in this area are composed of various solids, and there's even an instance of an invisible solid placed purely for collision purposes. I can confirm that other people can see them and move on them as well. They work pretty much perfectly so long as you have everything set up correctly. I don't think I did anything different outside of those steps I mentioned in my previous post.
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: CGB [Duffanichta] on October 03, 2011, 06:19:32 PM
Ok I installed my new system.. will install SDK later.. and will give you a feedback as well.
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: CGB [Duffanichta] on October 03, 2011, 06:52:05 PM
IT WORKS!

It was because of the folder structure..

I am glad this is solved!


PS: I did not test it on my old PC...
Title: Re: IMPORTANT! Community mappers need to copy their ResourceCompiler!
Post by: XRayXI on December 22, 2011, 11:51:12 PM
Deleted, made a new post.