Author Topic: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type  (Read 4072 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kryobig

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
  • A dish best served cold.
Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« on: July 28, 2012, 05:30:43 PM »
If weapons are not fully loaded and trying to buy extra ammo for assets with multiple ammo consuming weapon types, the quickbuy will always purchase ammo for the topmost weapon type, regardless which weapon was selected. This is extremely aggravating with assets such as Vulture A, Rifleman A and Thanatos D, which have the secondary weapons on top, causing accidental MG or SRM ammo purchases.

Here's how everyone can try it out and see that the issue really exists:

1) get an asset with multiple ammo using weapon types and free slots for extra ammo, such as the ones above
2) fire off a couple of rounds from all the weapons
3) select the weapon you want to buy ammo for (not the topmost weapon type)
4) repeatedly tap the quickbuy button
5) now you should have at least half of the free tons filled by the topmost ammo type, instead of the one you selected

Note that the problem does not occur when purchasing extra ammo when weapons are fully loaded.

Offline J-Me

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • l33tp0intz: +48/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2012, 05:38:09 PM »
So press the button slowly, like once every 2 seconds.

Offline cyofee

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
  • l33tp0intz: +71/-62
    • cyofee
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2012, 05:38:42 PM »
Confirming. This is the exact behavior I've been seeing since I've started playing the game but for whatever reason I never reported it. It's not exactly game breaking but it adds another reason for newbies to say 'fapp it' and uninstall the game.

Offline J-Me

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • l33tp0intz: +48/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2012, 05:55:36 PM »
If I get one more ton of MG ammo I swear I'm gonna...

*plink*
*plink*
*plink*
*plink*

[4 Mgunammo]

FFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!

Offline d3jake

  • MechWarrior
  • **
  • Posts: 343
  • l33tp0intz: +24/-2
  • [CGB] Pilots Captured Long Toms
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2012, 08:45:21 PM »
Stupid question: Have you tried scrolling down with the group-ordering arrows and then pressing the "buy" key?

Offline ShotgunSpiff

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 156
  • l33tp0intz: +12/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2012, 09:59:42 PM »
Stupid question: Have you tried scrolling down with the group-ordering arrows and then pressing the "buy" key?

This.  You need to select the weapon itself as well as the weapon group when using autobuy.  It works with APCs parked in the field and mechbays.  This is not a bug.

Offline Malaclypse

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 533
  • l33tp0intz: +29/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2012, 03:16:01 AM »
Quote
3) select the weapon you want to buy ammo for (not the topmost weapon type)
When you say "select the weapon" what do you actually do?

No disrespect intended, but are you navigating to the weapon grouping or down to the weapon itself?

I've never experienced what you're describing. Maybe I just naturally don't do what you're doing. I hit period to reload the weapons and then navigate to the weapon I'm wanting to purchase additional tons for and hit period.


Offline kryobig

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
  • A dish best served cold.
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2012, 03:00:15 PM »
Quote
3) select the weapon you want to buy ammo for (not the topmost weapon type)
When you say "select the weapon" what do you actually do?

No disrespect intended, but are you navigating to the weapon grouping or down to the weapon itself?

I've never experienced what you're describing. Maybe I just naturally don't do what you're doing. I hit period to reload the weapons and then navigate to the weapon I'm wanting to purchase additional tons for and hit period.


I thought it says it right there, you have to use arrow keys to choose the actual weapon you want to buy the ammo and if your weapons are at full ammo, then the right ammo type will be bought to fill any free tons you have.

If all your ammo consuming weapons have been fired, thus not being at full ammo, no matter which weapon you have chosen, in addition to all weapons being loaded, at least some tons will be filled by the topmost weapon type's ammo type when you quickly tap the quickbuy key .

Offline Ingrater

  • MWLL Lead Coder
  • Project Director
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1292
  • l33tp0intz: +136/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2012, 12:17:51 PM »
This is fully intentional, if any of your weapons does not have full ammo, ammunition for that weapon is bought first. Then if all weapons are fully loaded ammunition for the selected weapon is bought. If you press the quick buy key to quickly in combination with a pad ping it can happen that the ammunition for a partly empty weapon is bought twice. This is a issue due to network latency and fixing it would require a complete rewrite of the ammo buying system, which is why this will not happen.

Solutions are:
1) Press the quick buy button slowly, usually do it liek this: press it once, wait until all your weapons are reloading, then buy additional ammo
2) Use the buy menu to buy ammo, it gives you 100% control over what you buy

Kind Regards
Ingrater
There comes a point where the talking must stop, and people have to do actual work.

Offline cyofee

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
  • l33tp0intz: +71/-62
    • cyofee
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2012, 01:45:22 PM »
That makes sense, but how about selling/dumping ammo?

Offline Ingrater

  • MWLL Lead Coder
  • Project Director
  • Star Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1292
  • l33tp0intz: +136/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2012, 05:25:52 PM »
Dumping ammo is a planned feature.
There comes a point where the talking must stop, and people have to do actual work.

Offline cyofee

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
  • l33tp0intz: +71/-62
    • cyofee
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2012, 05:33:39 PM »
Dumping ammo is a planned feature.
Thanks, good to hear!

Offline Squibby

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 1160
  • l33tp0intz: +54/-0
  • Hanger to core breach in 30 seconds...
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2012, 11:31:28 PM »
Can jettisoned mgun ammo cause mechs and tanks to go slipping off comically?

Offline J-Me

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 579
  • l33tp0intz: +48/-0
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2012, 04:37:14 AM »
No more plastering the inside of the hangar with Mgun sprinkles?  :P

Offline Freeborn_Toad

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 578
  • l33tp0intz: +44/-6
Re: Ammo quickbuy still purchases the wrong ammo type
« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2012, 02:48:54 PM »
Stupid question: Have you tried scrolling down with the group-ordering arrows and then pressing the "buy" key?

This.  You need to select the weapon itself as well as the weapon group when using autobuy.  It works with APCs parked in the field and mechbays.  This is not a bug.

I never knew this.