Author Topic: Disc Emulation  (Read 4024 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline (TLL)martinroshak

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 390
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
Disc Emulation
« on: July 31, 2010, 04:54:25 PM »
Well, I've gone and bought myself an Alienware m11x so I'm finding myself in need of a way to write disc images to my hard drive to play all my physically owned games.  I do have an external dvd drive but I don't want to always have to carry that around.  I've heard good things about Daemon Tools, so checked that out and I noticed that (with the free version) you can only mount four images, which isn't too bad, as you're not normally playing that many games at one time.  But I wanted to ask anyway: any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
Laptop | M11x R1 | C2D U7300 @ 1.6ghz | 4gb DDR3 | GT 335M 1gb | Seagate Momentus XT 500gb Hybrid | Razer Orochi | Razer Kabuto

Desktop | Lancool Dragonlord PC-K62 | Corsair HX-650 | C2D E7400 @ 2.8ghz | 4gb DDR2 RAM | 500gb Seagate 7,200rpm | XFX HD 5770 1gb | 2x Alienware OptX 23" 3D HD Monitor | Logitech X-540 Speakers | Alienware TactX Mouse | Alienware TactX Keyboard

Offline HAARP

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2338
  • l33tp0intz: +212/-1
  • I regret nothing
    • Clan Jade Wolf
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2010, 05:09:55 PM »
Keep Daemon Tools, it's the best solution out there. There is some proprietary crap that wants to use its own disc formats, ignore that. DT mounts all common, NORMAL images :)
Also, you should be able to set how many drives you want.
don't bother sending me PMs, I probably won't be reading them in time.

Offline sleepysheep

  • Star Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 1936
  • l33tp0intz: +35/-0
  • I'm me deal with it
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2010, 06:34:02 PM »
Well, I've gone and bought myself an Alienware m11x so I'm finding myself in need of a way to write disc images to my hard drive to play all my physically owned games.  I do have an external dvd drive but I don't want to always have to carry that around.  I've heard good things about Daemon Tools, so checked that out and I noticed that (with the free version) you can only mount four images, which isn't too bad, as you're not normally playing that many games at one time.  But I wanted to ask anyway: any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

I've only used Daemon Tools once, but it worked and wasn't that hard. Either pay for it or just keep using it! If it works perfectly, why use something else ^^
Sandy 2500k @ 4.6ghz
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 V1.0 - Worst Motherboard ever.
2x GTX 580 3gb
8gb DDR3 dual channl 1600mhz
HX 1000W Corsair
Win 7 x64 Home Edition
5970x1200 Or 1920x1200 Triple Screen 26" Monitors
Dx10 Max settings 16xAF 8xAA

Offline Xarg Talasko

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2960
  • l33tp0intz: +159/-6
  • KANE LIVES!
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2010, 08:33:01 PM »
Just swap images if you need, quick and painless, though putting all images in 1 folder somewhere helps too.


Thief gameplay + Doom3 engine = The Dark Mod

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2010, 08:33:15 PM »
Why would you need to mount more than 4 images at once? You can't play more than one game...

I always have only one virtual drive.

On that note; I also only have one physical drive, why would you need more???
(except maybe one DVD+/-RW and one Blu-ray, but IIRC Daemon does them all)


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline (TLL)martinroshak

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 390
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2010, 06:55:25 AM »
Ahhhh, I see, I thought it meant you could only have four images at any given time.  Righteo, that's a non-issue then xD  Thanks guys!
Laptop | M11x R1 | C2D U7300 @ 1.6ghz | 4gb DDR3 | GT 335M 1gb | Seagate Momentus XT 500gb Hybrid | Razer Orochi | Razer Kabuto

Desktop | Lancool Dragonlord PC-K62 | Corsair HX-650 | C2D E7400 @ 2.8ghz | 4gb DDR2 RAM | 500gb Seagate 7,200rpm | XFX HD 5770 1gb | 2x Alienware OptX 23" 3D HD Monitor | Logitech X-540 Speakers | Alienware TactX Mouse | Alienware TactX Keyboard

Offline (TLL)martinroshak

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 390
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2010, 02:44:46 PM »
Actually, I'm going to tag on another question:  what's a good, easy to use program to use for making iso files?  I'm completely new at this stuff...
Laptop | M11x R1 | C2D U7300 @ 1.6ghz | 4gb DDR3 | GT 335M 1gb | Seagate Momentus XT 500gb Hybrid | Razer Orochi | Razer Kabuto

Desktop | Lancool Dragonlord PC-K62 | Corsair HX-650 | C2D E7400 @ 2.8ghz | 4gb DDR2 RAM | 500gb Seagate 7,200rpm | XFX HD 5770 1gb | 2x Alienware OptX 23" 3D HD Monitor | Logitech X-540 Speakers | Alienware TactX Mouse | Alienware TactX Keyboard

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2010, 03:06:08 PM »
It's been a while since I did (nowadays I don't pirate games anymore :P) But I always used CloneCD.

Dunno if they still make it?


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline SquareSphere

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 5176
  • l33tp0intz: +228/-6
  • pancake slinging, Square (care) Bear of MWLL
    • 12th Vegan Rangers - Boards
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2010, 08:11:26 PM »
I use ImgBurn to make isos

Offline Xarg Talasko

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2960
  • l33tp0intz: +159/-6
  • KANE LIVES!
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2010, 09:20:47 PM »
Check to see if your new laptop came with any disc creation software, (which most I've seen lately do) and that should be able to create iso's for you.


Thief gameplay + Doom3 engine = The Dark Mod

Offline Dragonlord

  • Lance Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
  • l33tp0intz: +22/-4
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2010, 10:30:07 AM »
I'm just a bit curious here you say you have an external DVD drive, but what I dont quite understand is why it dont have a built in drive?
I cant say I have heard of a laptop not having one before.

I know its not what yore asking for, I just find it a bit odd that you need a portable drive to a portable computer as it kinda beats the purpose.
Corsair HX 850W PSU
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, Socket-AM3           AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Six Core, 3,3GHZ/3,7GHz Turbo
Corsair SSD Force Series™ 3, 120GB                  Western Digital Caviar® Black 2TB
Gainward GeForce GTX 560Ti 2GB PhysX "Phantom"
Kingston ValueR. DDR3 1333MHz 8GB (2x4GB)
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro                     Logitech Z906 THX Certified Speaker System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Offline sleepysheep

  • Star Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 1936
  • l33tp0intz: +35/-0
  • I'm me deal with it
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2010, 06:05:18 PM »
I'm just a bit curious here you say you have an external DVD drive, but what I dont quite understand is why it dont have a built in drive?
I cant say I have heard of a laptop not having one before.

I know its not what yore asking for, I just find it a bit odd that you need a portable drive to a portable computer as it kinda beats the purpose.

Have you ever lifted a MultiPurpose DVD drive? They are quite heavy. Not having one in a laptop makes it far more portable but removing alot of weight! In fact without a DVD drive and if you changed the HDD to an SSD, you could remove more than half the weight!

Ofc personally I don't find it that advantages to not have a DVD drive, but my netbook doesn't have one, and I have no problems at all, admittly its a bit to weak to run most things you need a DVD drive for, but I could quite easily see myself not needing one on a laptop.
Sandy 2500k @ 4.6ghz
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 V1.0 - Worst Motherboard ever.
2x GTX 580 3gb
8gb DDR3 dual channl 1600mhz
HX 1000W Corsair
Win 7 x64 Home Edition
5970x1200 Or 1920x1200 Triple Screen 26" Monitors
Dx10 Max settings 16xAF 8xAA

Offline (TLL)martinroshak

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 390
  • l33tp0intz: +14/-0
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2010, 02:30:11 AM »
Mmm, okay, so I'm using Daemon Tools Lite as my mounting utility and ImgBurn as my ISO writer, but I can't seem to get it to work.  I mean, it writes it and all, but when I go to play it independent of the physical disc and only using the image, it tells me to insert the original disc and not the backup.  Any way around this that you guys know of?
Laptop | M11x R1 | C2D U7300 @ 1.6ghz | 4gb DDR3 | GT 335M 1gb | Seagate Momentus XT 500gb Hybrid | Razer Orochi | Razer Kabuto

Desktop | Lancool Dragonlord PC-K62 | Corsair HX-650 | C2D E7400 @ 2.8ghz | 4gb DDR2 RAM | 500gb Seagate 7,200rpm | XFX HD 5770 1gb | 2x Alienware OptX 23" 3D HD Monitor | Logitech X-540 Speakers | Alienware TactX Mouse | Alienware TactX Keyboard

Offline Xarg Talasko

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2960
  • l33tp0intz: +159/-6
  • KANE LIVES!
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2010, 03:32:07 AM »
Does the Iso have the same name as the disc it was created from?


Thief gameplay + Doom3 engine = The Dark Mod

Offline spaz

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • l33tp0intz: +2/-0
Re: Disc Emulation
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2010, 07:12:38 PM »
You are running into the cd/dvd copy protection for the game. For crysis I think it is some version of securom 7. The last time I had to deal with anything like this was about 4 years ago it required some special software to be used with the image writing software and does not work for anything above securom version 4 or 5, I can't remember the specifics.