Author Topic: Earthsiege 2  (Read 6332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Earthsiege 2
« on: February 09, 2014, 11:42:42 PM »
I'll not beat around the bush...

I'm looking for a iso of the old, old game "Earthsiege 2". I already checked GOG, and all the pirating sites I know, but all came up empty.

Considering the "nerdiness" (I mean that in a good way) of this community, I hope SOMEONE still has an original lying around that they could rip an iso off, or maybe even a source for a download?


Would be much appreciated.

(I assume it is abandonware, but even if not... does anyone still care? xD)


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline Bruno_007

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Star Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 833
  • l33tp0intz: +90/-0
  • Osiris hats: sold out. ~Str1k3r
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 01:10:53 AM »
Tools and I:
   - MWLL Online Launcher (LAN UDP Forwarder) - evolution of past "Le Proof of Concepto" project: connect without Gamespy via packet redirection;
   - Vehicle Browser - "Pocket Wiki" Šokaolias (not really that though);
   - Rconnect 4.3 - Server tools: map manager/player voting add-ons;
   - CryHammer - Validates Patch/CDKey of Crysis Wars (now unable to validate CDKey due to turned off Gamespy servers).

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 04:56:46 AM »
TYVVVVVVVVVVVVVM


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline Askis

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2181
  • l33tp0intz: +55/-5
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 11:41:23 AM »
Wow that was quick :o
How well does this run on Win7?

Offline =KoS= Saber15

  • Alphatester
  • Living Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 2114
  • l33tp0intz: +181/-2
  • RIP AND TEAR
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2014, 03:15:51 PM »
Wow that was quick :o
How well does this run on Win7?

It can barely run on Windows XP so my guess is that it doesn't.

I still have my ES2 CD.  :D
"Concentrate on the moment, each moment is its own reality. It has a particular thisness. You can't predict, but you can explain. Or try. If you are observant, and lucky, you can say, this is why this is happening! It's very interesting!"

Offline [IPA] Taltos

  • MechWarrior
  • **
  • Posts: 238
  • l33tp0intz: +12/-1
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2014, 03:41:57 PM »
Astonishingly, I still vividly remember the announcer voice from the intro  :o "We created them to fight our wars etc. etc."

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2014, 06:28:21 PM »
I was hoping to get it to run through some sort of VM. DosBox was my first choice, but I don't think ES2 was DOS compatible...


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline Askis

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 2181
  • l33tp0intz: +55/-5
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2014, 06:42:42 PM »
Yup Windows only...
Apparently you can get it to work by using a Win95 Virtual Machine.

Offline thEClaw

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 976
  • l33tp0intz: +75/-0
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2014, 07:35:00 PM »
Would it be a good idea to start a new game based off of this? Since Battletech is kind of "busy"...

Offline Bruno_007

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Star Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 833
  • l33tp0intz: +90/-0
  • Osiris hats: sold out. ~Str1k3r
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2014, 07:52:30 PM »
If you don't want to use a VM, I've heard of users running it in Windows XP/7, so I think you should give a try first.

How to install the game without the official installer and without requiring the CD: http://home.arcor.de/stalkermajor/earthsiege/es2wininstall.html
/comment: if you install to the suggested folder (C:\Earthsiege2\), in step 7. you may need to write C:\EARTHS~1\ instead of C:\Earthsiege2\, due to the DOS 8.3 character limitation. See what works. If it asks you for the CD, it was probably related to that.

How to play the game on Windows XP/Vista: http://home.arcor.de/stalkermajor/earthsiege/es2winplay.html
/comment: read that it also worked on Windows 7 x64. Also a video tutorial here if you get lost: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pu_x8cV9f30
Tools and I:
   - MWLL Online Launcher (LAN UDP Forwarder) - evolution of past "Le Proof of Concepto" project: connect without Gamespy via packet redirection;
   - Vehicle Browser - "Pocket Wiki" Šokaolias (not really that though);
   - Rconnect 4.3 - Server tools: map manager/player voting add-ons;
   - CryHammer - Validates Patch/CDKey of Crysis Wars (now unable to validate CDKey due to turned off Gamespy servers).

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2014, 08:59:13 PM »
OMG IT WORKS!!!

Only downside is that it won't let me set my gamepad axes as I want... (left/right is turret up/down and vice versa XD) 
Prly gonna need to use joy2key or something...


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline Bruno_007

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Star Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 833
  • l33tp0intz: +90/-0
  • Osiris hats: sold out. ~Str1k3r
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2014, 09:02:56 AM »
Duh, use your gamepad sideways. Or the joy2key thing ye. Or similar ones, don't remember more off the top of my head.
Tools and I:
   - MWLL Online Launcher (LAN UDP Forwarder) - evolution of past "Le Proof of Concepto" project: connect without Gamespy via packet redirection;
   - Vehicle Browser - "Pocket Wiki" Šokaolias (not really that though);
   - Rconnect 4.3 - Server tools: map manager/player voting add-ons;
   - CryHammer - Validates Patch/CDKey of Crysis Wars (now unable to validate CDKey due to turned off Gamespy servers).

Offline ~SJ~ Atlessa

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 991
  • l33tp0intz: +80/-1
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2014, 08:38:56 PM »
Duh, use your gamepad sideways.

But then the OTHER stick will be wrong <.<

Is there such a thing as a "joy2joy"? xD

As in... a simulated joystick/gamepad that I can freely program?


In soviet clanspace, trinary bids you.

Offline thEClaw

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 976
  • l33tp0intz: +75/-0
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2014, 09:33:50 PM »
PPJoy in conjunction with GlovePIE could certainly do that. The first one emulates a game controller (whatever you wish), the second one allows you to map everything connected to your system to every control you wish (e.g. several mouse pointers). But to install PPJoy you shouldn't be using a 64 bit OS (it's not impossible, but inconvenient), since it installs a driver and Microsoft charges a lot of money to digitally sign drivers.

Offline Bruno_007

  • Apprentice Dev
  • Star Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 833
  • l33tp0intz: +90/-0
  • Osiris hats: sold out. ~Str1k3r
Re: Earthsiege 2
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2014, 11:18:37 PM »
See if this wrapper is enough: Durazno
(Durazno is a XInput wrapper that simply sits between the controller and the game so as to allow for input customization.)

If it doesn't, do the stuff thEClaw said. One more way I found: UJR - Universal Joystick Remapper (Using vJoy)
Tools and I:
   - MWLL Online Launcher (LAN UDP Forwarder) - evolution of past "Le Proof of Concepto" project: connect without Gamespy via packet redirection;
   - Vehicle Browser - "Pocket Wiki" Šokaolias (not really that though);
   - Rconnect 4.3 - Server tools: map manager/player voting add-ons;
   - CryHammer - Validates Patch/CDKey of Crysis Wars (now unable to validate CDKey due to turned off Gamespy servers).