Author Topic: Could a DEV give a proper step by step guide on how to properly load this mod?  (Read 23766 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline whatever

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 496
  • l33tp0intz: +19/-1
  • Has the wisdom of the old man of the mountain.
One question that needs a step by step guide is this,

How do i load crysis and where do i go to get all the patches?  And the next question ... How do i properly load the MW: LL files to mod crysis?

This will help new players that are not used to adding modded content to thier crysis game ... Thanks again for all the hard work!
« Last Edit: December 24, 2009, 10:09:12 AM by whatever »
I was a mechwarrior like you once; until i took a arrow to my mech's knee ...

Offline Stahlseele

  • Living Legend
  • *******
  • Posts: 4583
  • l33tp0intz: +85/-6
  • 2nd Level TechSupport Agent(BOFH)
You load Crysis either at STEAM or at your Gaming-Store.
Then the Patches should come in automagically.
Then when Crysis is at 1.21 Jiggawatts of Patchings you can install the Mod.
Which should have a Download link on these here very boards as soon as it's available.
'any kind of discussion of randomness ALWAYS WILL EQUATE to being able to critically hit a mech's reactor by firing a micro beam laser while facing 80 degrees to the side, shooting the ground, which would cause a random explosion which would randomly crit his entire team's reactors which would randomly cause the server itself to explode which would randomly generate a strange quark which would randomly hit the earth and randomly randomness randomfapp the shit fapp random!'
------------------------------
CPU: Intel Xeon i7 4820k
Memory: GSkill 2x8Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video: Inno 3D iChill GeForce GTX 780Ti Black Accelero Hybrid
H/SDD:Samsung Series 830 256GB/512GB, 1x WD Caviar Black 1TB, 1x WD Caviar Green 3TB
Monitor: 2x24" Widescreen 16:9 1920x1080 native resolution
Win7Ultimate64

Offline (TLL)KitLightning

  • Resident Necromancer
  • Apprentice Dev
  • Living Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 6010
  • l33tp0intz: +524/-2
  • πάντα ρει, και ουδέν μένει
    • The Living Legends
hnn I usually just press the shortcut in the task manager to the game I bought *shrugs* on a DVD which never has been in after I installed it :o

Install the Game from the DVD to your HDD
Download and Install:
Crysis Patch 1.2
Crysis Hotfix 1.21
Download the Mod and extract&copy it to the Crysis/Mod/Mod name's folder.

Mods are usually run by adding a -mod modname in the Destination line of the Crysis shortcut!
   

                 BUG Reports                                    Technical Issues                                       Install Errors

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." ~Albert Einstein
                                     "It'll take time to restore chaos" ~George W. Bush

Offline whatever

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 496
  • l33tp0intz: +19/-1
  • Has the wisdom of the old man of the mountain.
I got crysis to load properly, load crysis and 1.2, then 1.21 hotfix THEN go to evenbalance.com and get the specatular pb setup program and update to the most current version of

Punkbuster..also make sure your directx is up to date, im not a expert but i hope this helps :)
I was a mechwarrior like you once; until i took a arrow to my mech's knee ...

Offline Mekabuser=12thVR=

  • Star Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 934
  • l33tp0intz: +44/-0
and where is the mod folder? m looking in program files and dont see didly under crysis
help.  m gna look again , but this really should be something that is spelled out in black and white and pinned top of the page. , if it aint already

Offline Serge

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
Yeah, none of this is working the way its supposed to...

I already moved the "Actions.xml" file. The suggestion about a "Mods" folder being in the directory, seems to have fallen flat.

Anyone else have any suggestions as to make this work?
Windows XP - SP3
AMD Athlon 64X2 - Dual Core 4200+
2.21Ghz - 3GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 - 512MB
1024x768 - 32bit

Offline Buckarama

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
For me the mod shows up, but I can't log into Gamespy (never liked it)

When I load the single player the original game Crysis loads with a new HUD :)

Offline whatever

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 496
  • l33tp0intz: +19/-1
  • Has the wisdom of the old man of the mountain.
check the STICKY up top!

myself i sorta got it working just make sure to extract to the Mods directory and copy and paste the joystick action maps to your personal profile its a sub
folder for games then rename yout old actionmaps.xml.

then take the joystick action maps and rename it actionmaps.xml, do this name change on the joystick example for all crysis profiles..

then go to mwll sub folder located in the electronic arts/crysis/mods/mwll sub folder and look for mwll launcher short cut,copy short cut and past to desktopand there you go.

i accompished this and able to get to the server selection screen but now cannot get in any multiplayer maps so i believe my 3rd download of this game was yet also borked so im
reinstalling crysis and re-downloading the mod rar. i hope this helps...
I was a mechwarrior like you once; until i took a arrow to my mech's knee ...

Offline [SF]JT Kirk

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • l33tp0intz: +12/-0
    • HPGRelay
this is my step by step guide, based on my own experience, its written for my clanmates
i post it in the hope its of some help to others
here goes...............

The first thing to keep in mind is this is a Beta version.
by choosing to install it, you accept the fact that you will be doing so as a beta tester. its not all beer and skittles.
this is also written on the assumption you have the Crysis CD, not a copy from D2D or Steam.

i recommend a clean install of Crysis, though thats not mandatory, and i suggest you create a profile if you havent done so.(make sure you have your original CD key before uninstalling and reinstalling though)

i also strongly recommend making a copy of Crysis.exe and placing it in a seperate folder (this will help with an issue to do with emulation software if it comes up)
you can find Crysis.exe in either

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin32 (if you are running windows 32 bit)
or
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin64 (if you are running windows 64 bit)

now we need to patch Crysis, this is done in two steps

first install this patch

http://crymod.com/filebase_redirect.php?fid=4701

then this one

http://crymod.com/filebase_redirect.php?fid=5161

This will bring your Crysis install up to the 1.21 hotfix level ready for the mod.

a check of the bottom right corner of your Crysis main menu screen should show the numbers 1.1.1.6156. this will confirm the 1.21 hotfix is installed.
if you get an error message saying

conflict with emulation software detected

replace the Crysis.exe file in bin32 (bin64 for windows 64 bit) with the one we saved earlier. this will fix that error message

next download the mod file.
i got mine here, and so i can verify it works ok

http://www.onionwars.net/mwll/MWLL-OpenBeta1.rar

full list of dowload sources are here
http://www.mechlivinglegends.net/forum/index.php/topic,6217.0.html

now to open the .Rar file you need winrar, a free copy can be Downloaded here

http://download.cnet.com/WinRAR/3000-2250_4-10745708.html

now this is important, dont just right click on openbeta1 and extract.
right click on the winrar icon and run as administrator, if you dont do this on vista you will get errors creating the target files.
run winrar "as admininstrator" and then select the MWLL-OpenBeta1.rar file, and extract to
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis
using the extract and overwrite option

almost there,

next we need to find the file
"example_actionmaps_for_joystick.xml"

it should be in
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\mwll\mods



Copy and Paste this file to your Crysis profile found in - My Documents\My Games\Crysis\Profiles

You will have to paste to both profiles (if you have another one besides the default Crysis)

ensure you do this in both the default and YOUR PROFILE directory
My Documents\My Games\Crysis\Profiles\default\actionmaps.xml
My Documents\My Games\Crysis\Profiles\JamesTKirk\actionmaps.xml

Finally delete your old "actionmaps.xml" and rename the copied "example_actionmaps_for_joystick.xml" to "actionmaps.xml"

dont worry about the word joystick, this applies even if you dont have one



now create a shortcut on your desktop, point it to the Crysis.exe file in

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin32 (for windows 32 bit)
or
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin64 (for windows 64 bit)

now right click on your shortcut and choose properties

and in the target box paste this (including the quotation marks/rabbits ears)
"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Bin32\crysis.exe" -mod mwll”

replacing the original target string thats there.

now click on the shortcut and Crysis will launch
it will launch like normal, dont worry
once the main menu is up click on the mods tab, and choose the MWLL mod, you will get a message saying game will restart, say yes........

and it restarts in MWLL mode

now there is no offline content at this stage, its all multiplayer, so you will need a gamespy comrade account (this gets installed during the original crysis install from cd, but you can find it in the subdir on your CD called comrade. run this and create an account. you can actually uninstall comrade afterwards once the account is created if you want (i did) but you need this account and password to access multiplay.

and thats it, simple really

there will be bugs, its a beta version
but ive installed it using these directions and have played online, and hosted a dedicated server.

Good luck, and feel free to contact me if you need help

keymap is here

http://www.mechlivinglegends.net/images/betaimages/MWLLKEYMAP.jpg



Hotfix.

this will upgrade your beta install to version 3

download the hotfix patch file

http://www.thelivinglegends.net/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;id=78

you want the file called MWLL-OpenBeta1-Hotfix1.rar

once you download it, run Winrar "as administrator"

point it to this new file and extract it into

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis

using the extract and overwrite option

click the "yes to all" button

and its done

you will now be able to join the version 3 servers
« Last Edit: December 30, 2009, 03:16:52 AM by [SF]JT Kirk »
And as you join the good ship earth and mingle with the dust......
Be sure to leave your underpants, with someone you can trust
                                           Jethro Tull

Offline whatever

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 496
  • l33tp0intz: +19/-1
  • Has the wisdom of the old man of the mountain.
i followed your advice about everything except create a shortcut to your desktop i just used a copy of the mwll launcher shortcut and placed it on the desktop it works fine!

excellent! you rock! now beam me up scotty!
I was a mechwarrior like you once; until i took a arrow to my mech's knee ...

Offline [SF]JT Kirk

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • l33tp0intz: +12/-0
    • HPGRelay
i followed your advice about everything except create a shortcut to your desktop i just used a copy of the mwll launcher shortcut and placed it on the desktop it works fine!

excellent! you rock! now beam me up scotty!

Im delighted to have been of service,
Thanks for the feedback
And as you join the good ship earth and mingle with the dust......
Be sure to leave your underpants, with someone you can trust
                                           Jethro Tull

Offline ShepherdOfRot

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
now create a shortcut on your desktop, point it to the Crysis.exe file in

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin32 (for windows 32 bit)
or
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin64 (for windows 64 bit)

now right click on your shortcut and choose properties

and in the target box paste this (including the quotation marks/rabbits ears)
"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Bin32\crysis.exe" -mod mwll”

replacing the original target string thats there.

now click on the shortcut and Crysis will launch
it will launch like normal, dont worry
once the main menu is up click on the mods tab, and choose the MWLL mod, you will get a message saying game will reboot, say yes........

and it reboots in MWLL mode

I've been trying to get MWLL to work and I've had problems left and right. I've finally got to this part. I replaced the target string (Using 64 bit instead of 32) and I clicked the shortcut. The Crysis window pops up, and before anything happens, it freezes and I get a "Program is not Responding". It's like this for the shortcut, AND when I put the Crysis CD in and press play... It did not do this before. What did I do, how do I fix it?

Offline [SF]JT Kirk

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • l33tp0intz: +12/-0
    • HPGRelay
now create a shortcut on your desktop, point it to the Crysis.exe file in

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin32 (for windows 32 bit)
or
C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\bin64 (for windows 64 bit)

now right click on your shortcut and choose properties

and in the target box paste this (including the quotation marks/rabbits ears)
"C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Bin32\crysis.exe" -mod mwll”

replacing the original target string thats there.

now click on the shortcut and Crysis will launch
it will launch like normal, dont worry
once the main menu is up click on the mods tab, and choose the MWLL mod, you will get a message saying game will reboot, say yes........

and it reboots in MWLL mode

I've been trying to get MWLL to work and I've had problems left and right. I've finally got to this part. I replaced the target string (Using 64 bit instead of 32) and I clicked the shortcut. The Crysis window pops up, and before anything happens, it freezes and I get a "Program is not Responding". It's like this for the shortcut, AND when I put the Crysis CD in and press play... It did not do this before. What did I do, how do I fix it?

i must admit, im using win32 bit, i was hoping this would run the same for 64.
my best advice would be to take the copy of crysis.exe that we saved in step two, and delete the copy in your bin64 and replace it with the saved copy.
if you didnt save a copy first you gan get one from your CD Open the Binari~1.cab (Bin32) or Binari~2.cab (Bin64) with WinRar or a similar pack-program and copy the Crysis.exe file.

you of course will need the one in Binari~2 directory

Sincere Good luck with it
And as you join the good ship earth and mingle with the dust......
Be sure to leave your underpants, with someone you can trust
                                           Jethro Tull

Offline ShepherdOfRot

  • Bondsman
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • l33tp0intz: +0/-0
Quote
i must admit, im using win32 bit, i was hoping this would run the same for 64.
my best advice would be to take the copy of crysis.exe that we saved in step two, and delete the copy in your bin64 and replace it with the saved copy.
if you didnt save a copy first you gan get one from your CD Open the Binari~1.cab (Bin32) or Binari~2.cab (Bin64) with WinRar or a similar pack-program and copy the Crysis.exe file.

you of course will need the one in Binari~2 directory
Is there a difference between 64 and 32 bit? I know that's dumb... But what is the difference?
Will it affect gameplay?
And could I just use 32 bit instead of 64? Just use Bin32 Crysis?
If I don't like the difference... Can you give me a walk-through on how to get the Crysis.exe? (I'd rather not look on my own... So far "on my own" hasn't worked at all, also, apologies if none of this makes sense)

Offline [SF]JT Kirk

  • Lance Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • l33tp0intz: +12/-0
    • HPGRelay
Quote
Is there a difference between 64 and 32 bit? I know that's dumb... But what is the difference?
Will it affect gameplay?

Its not dumb to ask a question friend,
there is a saying that goes
"a man who asks a question runs the risk of looking ignorant, the man who doesnt runs the risk of remaining so"

never be afraid to ask questions, its better to look ignorant of a subject for a moment, than to remain so forever

It depends on the type of windows you have installed the 32 bit or 64 bit version, my PC will run 64 bit, but i stuck with the 32 bit for compatibility reasons.



my best advice if its not working, is to flush crysis, using the uninstall programs feature of windows then delete the entire crysis folder and subfolders manually and start again,

navigate to here using explore

C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek

right click on the Crysis folder and hit delete (do this after an uninstall, this will clean up the extras the mod left behind)

then start again, a fresh copy of Crysis is my advice for anyone wanting to install the mod


And for goodness sake dont skip step 2. make a copy of the Crysis.exe before you apply the 1.2 and 1.21 hotfix patches. taking the time to make a copy is good insurance, you may never need it, but if you do its there and handy

i reckon my install guide is a good one, and at least one person has posted it worked for them, so keep trying, it may be helpful to print a copy and slowly work through using a pen to strike off each step as you do it, do it in the order its written and dont skip a step, unless you are confident you know how its all coming together on your system.

I'll keep an eye on this thread for the next 8 hours, so post here if you have questions, i will do my very best to help

Kind regards
JTK
« Last Edit: December 29, 2009, 09:15:38 PM by [SF]JT Kirk »
And as you join the good ship earth and mingle with the dust......
Be sure to leave your underpants, with someone you can trust
                                           Jethro Tull